Your cart is empty.

Police Sport History

Home > About Us > Police Sport History

The history of the NSW Police Council of Sport Incorporated, began in 1992 when the then Commissioner Lauer requested that the Chairman of the NSW Police Amateur Sports Federation, Chief Superintendent Jarratt, to establish a working party to undertake a general review of the structures of the NSW Police Service sporting bodies.

The working party consisted of Chief Superintendents Jarratt and Hopkins, Superintendent Shaw, Senior Sergeants Wakefield and May and Sergeant Prendergast.  They first met in December 1992 and again January 1993 with a submission returned to the Commissioner on 28 January, 1993.  The major thrust of the submission was the amalgamation of the NSW Police Amateur Sports Federation, the NSW Branch of the International Law Enforcement Games and the NSW Police Games Council, into the NSW Police Council of Sport.

The Inaugural meeting of the NSW Police Council of Sport was held at Police Headquarters on the 8thJune, 1993.  Present at this meeting were:

  • Assistant Commissioner Jarratt (Chairman)
  • Superintendent Shaw
  • Chief Inspector McDonald
  • Inspector Frawley
  • Detective Senior Sergeant Wakefield
  • Senior Sergeant May
  • Sergeant Cameron
  • Apologies were tendered for Chief Superintendent Hopkins and Sergeant Prendergast.

The main focus of the inaugural meeting was the drafting of a Constitution and a newly created police position of Chief Sports Officer.  Of interest, the minutes record the fact that of the 13,000 serving police at that time, 5,284 were financial members of the NSW Police Amateur Sports Federation.

Senior Sergeant Max May won the position of Chief Sports Officer.

Despite the NSW Police Council of Sport commencing in 1993, it was not until the 19th October, 1995 that the Inaugural Annual General Meeting of the NSW Police Council of Sport was held.  The Chairman was Assistant Commissioner Jarratt, COP Representative Detective Superintendent Coe, the Chief Sports Officer/Secretary, Inspector May and the Treasurer, Sergeant Spring.  Five members were elected via secret ballot, being Messrs Dening, Prendergast, Cameron, Bourke and Shaw.  Twenty eight police sporting clubs were represented.

They were:

  • Rifle
  • Netball
  • Pistol
  • Golf
  • Track & Field
  • Swimming
  • Soccer
  • Bowling
  • Darts
  • Squash
  • Gun
  • Basketball
  • Surfing
  • Cricket
  • Rugby League
  • Ten Pin
  • Ski
  • Boxing
  • Rugby
  • Hockey
  • Tug-of-war
  • Table Tennis
  • Triathlon
  • Gliding
  • Distance Running
  • Billiards
  • Equestrian
  • Touch Football

The NSW Police Council of Sport in 2012 celebrates it’s 17th Year in October. Over the course of these seventeen years, the organisation has –

  1. Hosted twenty-eight NSW Police Games events
  2. Hosted the Australasian Police & Emergency Services Games (2008)
  3. Hosted numerous Australian Police Championships
  4. Competed successfully at national and international police sporting events

It is with confidence and enthusiasm that we look forward to the coming years of police sport, especially the significant milestones of the 30th Anniversary of the NSW Police Games in 2014 and the 20th Anniversary of the Incorporation of the NSW Police Council of Sport in 2015.

In Memory: Robert John ROLFE

Death of Robert John ROLFE – an old avid NSW Golfer who...Read more

© NSW Police Council of Sport 2008 - 2018 All Rights Reserved :: ABN 43 475 693 233 :: Website by Giant Media :: ADMIN